Lament for the Elm Tree

17 Jan
Centennial Park , Fredericton
http://k002.kiwi6.com/hotlink/w0cw56dsd1

I wrote this piece of music after witnessing the loss of one of my favorite parks in Fredericton.  The park wasn’t anything special to look at but I have many fond memories of spending summer days there hanging with friends.  It had a few benches and not much more but was completely surrounded by some of the tallest, most beautiful elm trees in the city.  This photo is taken from the far end and doesn’t really do it justice but it was the only one I could find.  If I find a better image, I’ll be sure to post it.

The park was destroyed to make room for the city’s new trade and convention centre.  The original artist renditions of the design included the trees found at the far end and worked them in as a sort of atrium.  I guessed I missed a memo somewhere along the way and a revised version of the plan was passed.

It was a Sunday morning, probably two years ago now when I first walked by this block of King Street and saw a city crew cutting down these giant elms.  I was sad and thought it was almost deceitful that they would do this on a Sunday when the usually buzzing city block wouldn’t kick up a stink.  At least we got some escalators out of the deal.

One Response to “Lament for the Elm Tree”

  1. Dirk January 18, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Progress ?

Leave a Reply

