The Fox and the Miramichi

13 Feb

http://k002.kiwi6.com/hotlink/i96ehstvyt                                                                      The tune is called Dorothy Weldon.  I wrote it for an old woman from the Miramichi who died the day I went to meet her.  I’d heard she was a lovely woman.  She was a friend of a friend and someone I wish I’d met.

The recording was taken from a concert I played with the band Brollachan.  Although we don’t play anymore, I’m very proud of some of the music we created.  The piece is performed by my good friends and fellow musicians, Krista Touesnard (fiddle) and Carolyn Holyoke (piano).

Mr. Fox was someone we met today along the Branch Road, near my hometown of Geary, NB.

2 Responses to “The Fox and the Miramichi”

  1. Gord Perry March 1, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    This tune reminds me so much of “The Sleeping Tune” by Gordon Duncan. This is a beautiful piece of music, Matt!

    • mjc73 March 1, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

      Yeah. I hear that too. Damn it! Thanks dude!

Leave a Reply

